Tinnitus After Anxiety/Stress, Worsened by Escitaloprám + Other Drugs — What to Do!

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by miwdob, Jan 19, 2022.

1. miwdob
      Worried

miwdob Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      01/22
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Medical. stress & anxiety i guess
      Hi there.

I'm new to tinnitus and theese last couple of weeks have been an absolute nightmare.

My tinnitus started when I was going through a stressful time in my life and I for the first time experienced symptoms of anxiety. My tinnitus started on my right ear and though it was pretty annoying, I could deal with it. That was 7 weeks ago. Just before New Year's Eve i started taking Escitalopram to get my anxiety under control and hopefully being able to sleep again - worst decision of my life.

I took 10 mg for 5 days and the tinnitus got increasingly worse and started on my left ear as well. My doctor just told me to push through, but I didn't want to do anymore as my tinnitus was already out of control. So I stopped right away. I had no idea that Escitalopram had this side effect. I even told my doctor about my tinnitus, but she just said that since I already had it before starting on the pills, it was probably just a temporary side effect. I should have stopped immediately after I noticed it becoming worse.

The two weeks afterwards were terrible - I was prescribed benzos (Oxapax) and Seroquel to get some relief and sleep, it worked a while, but I was in complete panic and getting panic attacks every day. Which only made the tinnitus worse.

I went to se a psychiatrist and he has now put me on Mirtazapine. After the first dose my tinnitus spiked (30 mg) and now I'm on 15 mg 5 days in. I think it's only making things worse. It's not really helping me sleep every night, just for a couple of hours.

I wish I had come to this place before and read all of these terrible stories about tinnitus and ADs. I should have never taken them!