Tinnitus and Other Symptoms After Antibiotic (Zithromax). Please Help!

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Justaperson, Mar 3, 2018.

1. Justaperson

Justaperson Member

Tinnitus Since:
      2/2018
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Medication/TMJ?
      Hello, this is my first time posting on this forum and wanted to share and get some thoughts on what I've been dealing with.

About 4 weeks ago I was prescribed Zithromax for an infection I had. I had taken this in the past with no problems and didn't think much about it. I took it in the morning and didn't have any side affects until that night. I initially had a headache on the side of my head (around my temples) which is odd, because I never get headaches there. Anyway I went to sleep and woke up in the middle of the night with severe side affects. Ringing in ears, balance issues, headache, chills, ect. I did not take anymore of it, but with the extremely long half life of the drug I think the damage was done.

Anyway fast forward 4 weeks and I have seen two separate ENT doctors and neither of them believe it was the drug. One said it was from TMJ, which I have, but I doubt it since the coincidence of the onset and it never caused me any problems before. I brought up ETD, but they said it couldn't be that since I have no hearing loss. Below are some of the symptoms I'm still dealing with:

- Tinnitus, particularly in my left ear.
      - On and off headaches around my temples and sometimes behind my eyes
      - constant popping in my ears. Feels like there is something almost behind the eardrum sometimes.
      - full feeling in my ears

Does anyone have any thoughts on what this could possibly be? Thanks in advance for any reply.

• Hug Hug x 1
    2. ridgew

ridgew Member

Tinnitus Since:
      2004->2012->2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Acoustic trauma