Tinnitus Driving Me Crazy — I'm a Pilot and It Has Definitely Been the Cause of It

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Dwaddsy1, Jul 26, 2022.

1. Dwaddsy1
      Balanced

Dwaddsy1 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Aviation
      Hello,

I've had tinnitus since 2017. It was manageable up until about 8 months ago and now it is very loud and activates my limbic system. I'm hoping to find some success stories from anyone who has had bad tinnitus for 5+ years.

Had a hearing test and I have some hearing loss in "high frequencies".

I'm a pilot and this has definitely been the cause of it.

It's so loud that I have a hard time concentrating even with fans, music and air conditioning.

• Hug Hug x 7
    2. Ulaid

Ulaid Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise exposure
      Mine is very loud and it used to wake me up. My psychiatrist prescribed 7.5 mg of Mirtazapine to help me sleep and I no longer wake up. By keeping busy and playing background noise I am able to momentarily forget my tinnitus and I can sleep. I hope you feel better soon because I really struggle sometimes and I know it’s hard.

I would speak to a doctor and audiologist. Maybe hearing aids can help. A girl on here has no hearing loss but said hearing aids have helped her loads.

3. Travis Henry
      Cynical

Travis Henry Member Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      10/2021
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      1 Moderna Vac, Noise and stress I guess, its killing me