Tinnitus + Hearing Loss in One Ear = ...

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Farganne, Jan 17, 2015.

1. Farganne
      Balanced

Farganne Member

Tinnitus Since:
      12/2010
      Hi everyone,

I came across this forum while researching a cure scam that almost took me in. So, thanks to this forum and its creators and moderators. I am an admin/moderator on another forum and know the work it takes to keep a forum useful, so I appreciate and applaud your efforts in providing this valuable resource for all of us who suffer from this awful malady.

My tinnitus I believe stems from use of antidepressants. It's a long story, but I have a friend who extracted about 20 thousand pages of documents from GlaxoSmithKline Pharmaceuticals proving that their own clinical trials established that Paxil causes neural damage to the frontal lobe of the brain. The same is true of other SSRI antidepressants. They can also cause ancillary damage to auditory neurons. Timing strongly suggests that the antidepressants cause my tinnitus.

They also inflict terrible withdrawal symptoms, amongst a host of other evils. Fortunately, I didn't suffer from those, and stopped in time to avoid damage to my emotional and spiritual existence. But the ringing in the ears was a done deal. I have lived with it since 2010.

Last August, I awoke one morning deaf in my left ear. I went to the ENT clinic, which sent me to a local hospital, where the docs sent me to a large regional hospital. Total hearing loss: 0%. After ruling out a tumor, they put me on prednisone for two weeks. After the prednisone didn't help, they told me I would never regain hearing in that ear. Shortly thereafter, I was standing at a busy crosswalk, waiting for the light to turn green. When it did, I took one step forward. My right ear heard everyone around me cry out, while my left ear barely detected a low rumbling vibration. I stopped. A bus went hurtling by about 3 inches in front of my nose.