Tinnitus? Or Obsession w/ the Natural Sound of Silence...

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by PotterBook, Feb 2, 2017.

1. PotterBook
      Stressed

PotterBook Member

Tinnitus Since:
      01/2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown/ Earwax?
      Hello All.

I'm new to this, and I'm afraid. I'm so new that I can't even be sure that's what is going on. My husband thinks the sound I am suddenly hearing is just the "Natural silence" you hear when you're in a quiet room (which I have noticed before and never bothered me) but I can hear it pretty much all the time! It sounds to me like the high pitched humming sound a TV lets off when it's sitting idle, but not off. I first noticed it on Saturday, 1/21; very suddenly. I was cleaning my daughters closet out when my right ear went quiet and started to ring.

This has happened tons of times in my life and within about 2 minutes the sound dissipates and your hearing is fully restored. (you know the old saying, "my ear is ringing, someone is talking about me")

Well this time, the hearing restored and the ringing dissipated, but the "interference" in my right ear remained. It frightened the heck out of me! It too, though seemed to go away over the next few hours, leaving my ear feeling kind of full.

Then, over the next few days, occasionally I would notice the noise, as well as the feeling of fullness, and sometimes even feeling my ear is "wet" when it's not. All of these sensations are intermittent.