Tinnitus Since About 1999 — This Is My Story

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by sonic123, Mar 25, 2015.

1. sonic123

sonic123 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Hello Everybody

Just wanted to say hi and maybe share with others out there who suffer from tinnitus.

I'm a 43 year old musician. In retrospect I realise now I had hyperacusis, had super sensitive ears, and as a kid it was torment when an ambulance went by, for example. Cinemas were horrible places for me, anything big and noisy was horrific. I couldn't believe how loud different places were, in these 'normal' environments. I get it now, why certain tribes in the Amazon, suffer little hearing loss even in old age - because they all talk quietly, everything is very quiet, and they need their ears to be good in the forest...

But I tried to harden up, be 'normal' - yep, that was dumb, since now I have tinnitus. But I never really spoke to anyone how sick I felt at loud noise etc. Seemed pathetic somehow! Or how odd it was that I could hear the tiniest of noise coming through the wall or from the room next door... Always had to sleep with earplugs. Seemed to me, it was a question of hardening up to it...

As a musician, I've really put ears through the ringer (pun not intended!!), and now I have hearing loss too it would seem.

Tinnitus really started for me in 1999. I've adjusted my thoughts on the matter several times through these years. but I've reached a new slump.