Tinnitus Sufferer Trying Hearing Aids

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by David FL, Feb 13, 2014.

1. David FL

David FL Member

Tinnitus Since:
      1/2013
      Hi, this is my first time here. Since 1993, my work has involved headphone use. I am a realtime broadcast captioner for television. We receive our audio through standard phone lines, the quality isn't the best, and volume always seemed to help. I'm afraid the years have taken their toll on my ears. Visits to two audiologists confirm mild hearing loss, but the tinnitus has become unbearable. often interfering with the audio I'm trying to caption.

BTW, I know there's a lot of poor quality captioning out there. There are many reasons for that. FYI, I'm one of the good ones. ;-)

I'm on my third day with Phonak Audeo Q70s. The tinnitus is definitely masked, and the hearing is improved. I love classical music, and hearing notes and texture that have been missing is wonderful.

For some reason, I can't turn down the maskers. The audiologist probably forgot to program that with all the other gadgets that came with these. This is a lot of white noise to live with, though more pleasant than the tinnitus.

Thanks for listening. I'll be hunting around the forum to see what I can learn.

Edited to add - BTW, I do have an appointment on Monday for a check-up and I really want to explore the programming of these. Sadly, I'm aware that many consumers know more than their audiologists. I've love any suggestions you may have.

• Like Like x 2
      • Friendly Friendly x 1
    2. AUTHOR
      AUTHOR
      David FL

David FL Member

Tinnitus Since:
      1/2013
      Wow, 96 views and not a single welcome to a tinnitus sufferer who got this way providing a service to the deaf and hard of hearing since 1993. Tough audience!

• Like Like x 1
      • Agree Agree x 1
    3. ihsoy

ihsoy Member

Tinnitus Since:
      01/2004
      Hey, David, and welcome to the forum.