Trying to Cope, Needing Support Desperately

Discussion in 'Support' started by historicalagency, Oct 24, 2017.

1. historicalagency

historicalagency Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      unknown
      Hi all,

I have had tinnitus since about March 2016, so I guess like a year and a half. It happened after a show, but also at the peak of my onset of PTSD. Since then, I've had certain tones come and go, but my constant has been a hissing in the left ear. After about a year, I finally pretty much habituated to it. Now, as if my body is playing another cruel trick on me, I have noticed a new tone in my right ear: this time a ringing. Much lower frequency than the left ear. The left is just static. This is an ACTUAL ringing. And to be honest I'm not sure if I can survive this one.

I keep evading doing work (I am a graduate student) because I am afraid of hearing it. I keep just dissociating and listening to noise or music or watching TV because I'm afraid to be still and quiet and hear it again. I'm afraid to sleep so I've been drinking a lot, until I just pass out so I don't have to hear it. I don't know what to do. I could cope with the hissing, but not the ringing. I need to hear that people have coped with the ringing. I am going to make an appointment with an audiologist tomorrow but I'm not sure what they would even do. I feel like my life is over, and because I associate it with PTSD I blame myself. If I hadn't experienced what I experienced then this would never have happened. I have a constant physical reminder of how my life will never be the same again. I don't know what to do. I could use any kind words or help or advice anyone has. I truly don't know if I will be able to live like this.

• Like Like x 1
      • Hug Hug x 1
    2. GregCA
      Jaded

GregCA Member Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      03/2016
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Otosclerosis