Trying to Understand Tinnitus/Meniere's Diagnosis

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by BarbaraZ, Jun 11, 2019.

1. BarbaraZ

BarbaraZ Member

Tinnitus Since:
      long time
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      age-related, virus Dec 2017
      I've had tinnitus a long time--those long-ago concerts, don't you know? I also had an ear infection in December 2017 that caused major hearing loss in my left ear that my ENT doc now says is Meniere's disease, based on two audiograms a year apart. I'm not convinced--I don't have the vertigo and dizziness that's supposed to be characteristic--but it's definitely something.

Furthermore, I'm using tooth aligners right now, and they seem to create an intermittent loud tinnitus tone all their own. I hope that goes away when we're done with it. All in all, there's a lot of nerve action on the left side of my head.

I'm a musician (choral singer), and the new deafness and hollowness is devastating, more than the tinnitus. Music sounds awful. I only have metaphorical descriptions ("sounds like a rusty nail") for what I hear and that's frustrating too.

I'm here in these forums trying to understand what has happened and what I can do. I have a consultation with an audiologist in an hour about hearing devices and there's so much I need to know.

Looking forward to learning how to control this,
      Barbara

• Hug Hug x 1
    2. Contrast
      No Mood

Contrast Member Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      late 2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      noise injury
      How do you know loud music did not contribute to this as well. Did they verify it was an ear infection or did they just guess?

The first thing you need to realize is all science related to the inner ear is primitive and has a long way to go. Scientists do not have a way to biopsy the inner ear, the methods they use today to determine hearing problems are mediocre at best.

3. Ken219
      Frustrated

Ken219 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Summer of 1990