What an Amazing Place This Is

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by ChrisJ, Sep 6, 2015.

1. ChrisJ

ChrisJ Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      PT since 1988. T with H since June 2015
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown
      Hello everyone,

Well this forum has been so helpful for me I had to stop lurking and make a post.

I am a tinnitus and hyperacusis veteran since I was a kid back in 1988. I had lots of grommets and operations on my ears after many bouts of glue ear and middle ear infections. When I finally got my ears sorted at 10 years old I had very sensitive hearing and pulsate tinnitus as a result of all the treatment. However I did not even know what hyperacusis was until 3 months ago, I had always just assumed that it was normal to be this sensitive to sound or that perhaps I was just a grumpy person who didn't like noise.

So about 3 months ago a new kind of tinnitus hit me while watching Interstellar (just as he went in to the blackhole!) a high pitched whistle started in my left ear. I was drinking cider and I noticed it making me feel a bit dizzy so I stopped drinking it and thought I would get an early night hoping to sleep it off.

Well I didn't sleep it off. I woke up and the tinnitus had turned in to a full on head ringing sensation and my ears were so sensitive to sound I couldn't even have the TV on at the lowest volume or stand the sound of the planes outside. I also had dizziness and migraine, the dizzy spells have now stopped but I still get migraines especially if I raise my voice too loud. Yes, I am even sensitive to my own voice.

I will keep this intro short but I wanted to say that I have been trying Hyperbaric Oxygen Therapy which I will report on in due course in the appropriate thread. I have also been trying numerous other treatments suggested on this forum and I hope I can contribute to the body of work here so that anyone else who is suffering can perhaps gain some insight from my experience.