What Are the Long-Term Effects of Tinnitus on Health & the Brain?

Discussion in 'Support' started by Milky Way, Jun 15, 2021.

1. Milky Way

Milky Way Member

Tinnitus Since:
      04/2004
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Caused by stress and music as far as I know
      I've been enduring tinnitus for the last 17 years, and it has been very severe for the last 9 years.

I am pretty much constantly overwhelmed by the intensity and relentless nature of my tinnitus. I am sure a few people here can relate to that.

I know about the obvious side effects such as depression, anxiety etc that this condition causes but I would like to know about the long term side effects on brain and overall health.

How does tinnitus affect cognition, memory? I think I read someone mentioned here about long term risks of developing Alzheimer's?

• Good Question Good Question x 5
      • Hug Hug x 1
    2. buttercake

buttercake Guest

About the relation between tinnitus and Alzheimer's (and Parkinson's) I found this (published in Nature):

Tinnitus and risk of Alzheimer's and Parkinson's disease: a retrospective nationwide population-based cohort study

If you search "tinnitus cognitive impairment" on Google Scholar you will get a lot of results. However it's not clear (at least to me) what the consensus is.

For instance this Korean study (published, but not in a top journal) says: "It is commonly believed that tinnitus patients may have difficulties with attention span and memory. Many studies have reported that poor cognitive performance was associated with tinnitus. However, unlike hearing loss, which has been reported to be an independent risk factor for dementia, the link between tinnitus and cognitive impairment remains unclear."

This area seems to be a minefield though; you can probably easily prove and disprove whatever you want.

• Like Like x 1
    3. Juan

Juan Member Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      08/2014
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Several causes