What Should I Do Next? Finding a TRT Clinician ...

Discussion in 'Dr. Stephen Nagler (MD)' started by Kevin Reeder, Jun 3, 2014.

1. Dr. Nagler is not answering questions.
    Dismiss Notice
    1. Kevin Reeder
      Irritated

Kevin Reeder Member

Tinnitus Since:
      08/2001
      Hi Dr. Nagler.

Welcome back and I hope you enjoyed your vacation!

I'm new to TT, and it has really been a blessing to be able to talk to people who also suffer from Tinnitus. In all the years that I have had it, almost 14, I could count on one hand the people I've met who have it and actually understand. So I'm very grateful to be here around Doctors and people who know what I'm going through.

My personal journey with T is a long one. I used to work in very loud environments, and sometimes when I went home my ears would be ringing. It never worried me too much because I used to go to the shooting range with my dad as a kid, so I knew it was natural for your ears to ring after exposure to loud noises. It would sometimes last into the night, but for the most part it would always be gone by morning. This was around 97-2000. In 2001 I was put on paxil to manage my depression and that was when it became constant. Soon it got so bad that it started throbbing and the volume would spike with each time it throbbed or pulsated. When I decided I wanted to get off the paxil because I believed there was a correlation it got even worse, the volume spiking got louder the throbbing seemed to get harder, and it became painful each time it throbbed, similar to an electric shock. After a while all the shocking and throbbing stopped, and it turned in to what it is today, a constant ring, about a 6 on a scale of one to 10, and for the last 2 years there have been two different pitches it rings at that can be heard over anything.