Worsened Tinnitus — A Physical Cause or Only a Perception in the Mind?

Discussion in 'Support' started by birt, Aug 4, 2019.

1. birt

birt Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Hi. I'm a musician with tinnitus and recently tried to do a few gigs again with a full band after quit a long time.
      Of course my tinnitus spiked as a result. Usually it had always gone back down in the background after a few days,weeks but this time the loudness has seemed to remain.

I visited my tinnitus doc and they said that the level of my tinnitus didn't necessarily get worse but that my perception of it makes it seem like it got louder. It's the whole mind game around the fear of tinnitus getting worse. But who really knows what is really physically and what is perceived in the mind concerning tinnitus?

I have considered stopping to play in bands although I get good offers. But I was told that I haven't done further damage and the increase of tinnitus is only a perception in the brain because of me being anxious that it could get worse etc... after a gig. Know what I mean?

Not sure who or what to believe. I guess that's the frustration. Nobody knows really how it works. Anyways, the Dr encouraged me not to stop playing/gigging. But it seems to me that if you play in a loud environment (with drums, etc), then you've further irritated the tinnitus.

2. JohnAdams
      Festive

JohnAdams Member Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      May 1st 2018
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Aspirin Toxicity/Possibly Noise
      It's a physical condition. Dont let anyone convince you of anything else.

• Agree Agree x 2
    3. Contrast
      No Mood

Contrast Member Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      late 2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      noise injury
      You paid someone to lie to you.

• Agree Agree x 2
      • Like Like x 1
    4. AUTHOR
      AUTHOR
      birt

birt Member

Tinnitus Since: