23 Years Old, Only Just Noticed Tinnitus, Scared, Has Questions

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by dog_snack, Feb 7, 2016.

1. dog_snack
      Worried

dog_snack Member

Tinnitus Since:
      02/2016
      Hi everyone,
      I'm a 23-year-old musician in Vancouver, Canada. In only the past few days, I think I've noticed a persistent, very high-pitched, though really fairly quiet whine in both my ears. I fear the worst, of course, and I'm already prone to brooding and worrying about things for days, weeks at a time.

I've been sensitive to harsh, loud noise my entire life, and I have virtually always (whenever possible) used hearing protection when I attend or play shows, usually big foam earplugs. When earplugs are not available, I either cover my ears manually or reach for some toilet paper (which I know is not medically recommended but it's better than nothing, I figure). But there have been instances where I was unpredictably exposed to very brief, very loud noise at gig situations (amp turned up higher than I thought, accidental feedback). I've also listened to music on headphones since I was a kid, and I've probably turned it up past safe volumes when I've been in noisy environments (public transportation).

Only a few days ago, I actually began noticing a very quiet whine all the time. It's maddening, and it's making me feel as though I didn't do enough to protect my ears, which feels pretty crappy. Is it possible that even wearing earplugs all the time won't help entirely? (If that's the case, maybe it's an acceptable risk of the job). I still figure I've been doing more to protect my hearing than most other people I know.