3 Months and Counting

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by GWW, Feb 25, 2018.

1. GWW

GWW Member

Tinnitus Since:
      12/2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Acoustic trauma
      Hi everyone, first time poster here, glad this place exists. It’s coming up on 3 months since my head exploded and I have a searing hot frequency screaming through my ears that flares and intensifies at any kind of “s” sound or bags crushing of silver wear clanking.

It’s excruciating and doesn’t come down much. The frequency is always there, waiting to electrify my nervous system.

I’m a professional musician, been around loud volumes on and off for 30 years. 3 months ago I bought some high end studio gear and heard a super high frequency coming through the headphones. Being a bit OCD and having just spent a lot of money, I had to find out where the sound was coming from. I did this for a week or so subjecting myself to the same sound over and over.

At some point during the process my head exploded and I fell into a nightmare.

Since then I’ve seen 2 doctors, and ENT, had an MRI (which came out fine) and was referred to a neurologist.

Long story short, my life has been a roller coaster of emotion, helpless to do anything about this electricity searing through my ears and brain, hoping each morning that maybe it will be gone only to find it the same as the day before.

I’m devastated.

Any kind words would be appreciated, it’s kind of psychological torture. Thanks guys.

• Hug Hug x 1
    2. john paul
      English

john paul Member

Tinnitus Since:
      11/11/17
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      acoustic trauma
      Your right when you say its psychological torture. Its also ok to feel the way you do about it, your not being weak or pathetic about, it just is simply a living hell to suffer with it and can be truly devastating.

Has it got any better at all in the 3 months?