5 Months Later, Life Still Sucks

Discussion in 'Support' started by zkdr, Nov 10, 2017.

1. zkdr
      Creative

zkdr Member

Tinnitus Since:
      07/2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown
      I'm tired of fighting the depression that comes with the ringing. I was put on Abilify and Celexa, and now I can barely focus on what I'm doing. I program for a living so now I can barely hold a conceptual thought. I can't even enjoy video games or TV anymore. Imagine coming home after work and not getting any feeling of satisfactory relief. It's hell.

A few things did get better, like the hyperacusis went away when I started taking meds. But now I would still rather just give up. I'm not seeing much progress in terms of habituation. I still notice the ringing once a day.

The worst part is not knowing why this is happening. My hearing is fine. Yet still this high pitched hissing tone... It's whatever. I just want to be able to focus enough to watch some damn TV. Can anyone relate? Anyone been on psychotropics and know if this gets better? I've been on the same meds for five months. They help with emotion regulation but I'm sick of not being able to fully engaged with what I love.

• Hug Hug x 2
    2. fishbone
      Shitfaced

fishbone Member Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      loud noise and very bad sickness
      Were you put on these meds, because of your tinnitus? Or you were on these before? Sometimes meds are really needed and sometimes they make the matter worst.

Depression, anger, feeling lost is a natural feeling when tinnitus hits. The emotions that tinnitus can bring, can be harsh and nasty at times. When I got hit with tinnitus early on, I just talked it out with lots of people and tried to get an understanding as to what was happening. I have been through tons of horrific ordeals and meds were always available to me, but i chose to fight it naturally through exercise and support.