A Big Hello from The Netherlands — I Used to Be a Professional Musician and Music Teacher

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by StefanTerpstra, Jun 21, 2022.

1. StefanTerpstra

StefanTerpstra Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      I am a musician.
      My name is Stefan Terpstra, I'm from The Netherlands. I'm a teacher in secondary education in the Dutch Language. I used to be a professional musician and music teacher. I have two daughters and am married. Besides music, drawing and swimming are my hobbies. I also like to read.

When I started as a musician in the 80s, I played in a band and spent a lot of time on music. After that, I was allowed to study at the conservatory, as a pianist of pop and jazz music. Between the ages of 15 and 30, I did little to protect myself. Fortunately, I started to wear earplugs around the age of thirty. Yet I have been suffering from tinnitus for about 15 years. The left ear is sensitive to noise. Furthermore, I hear a hiss and sometimes a beep around 1 kHz. My right ear is fine.

To deal with tinnitus, I use hearing protection. Furthermore, the ZEM hearing protection helps with hypersensitivity. Sometimes I use masking techniques.

Fortunately, there are still days or weeks that I hardly suffer from it. When I'm stressed, tired, or both, my ears become sensitive and I can get irritated very easily. The fact that I no longer have 8 hours of noise around me has also helped enormously. I have learned to live with it, but I must add that tinnitus has been one of the reasons that I have chosen a different profession. I stopped teaching music and I don't perform anymore. Music has become a hobby again, which I am honestly very happy with.

• Like Like x 3
      • Hug Hug x 2
    2. Joe Cuber
      Angry

Joe Cuber Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      03/2022
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Gradual hearing loss + a huge amount of stress