A Possible Medication That "MIGHT" Work for Benzo (Klonopin, Xanax, Ativan, Valium) Induced Tinnitus

Discussion in 'Support' started by JasonP, Mar 29, 2017.

1. JasonP
      No Mood

JasonP Member

Tinnitus Since:
      6/2006
      I'm not a doctor or scientist here so I don't know exactly how the brain works. From what I understand though, benzodiazepines such Klonopin or Xanax work on the GABAa receptors and enhance the receptor along with GABA itself. So basically, GABA and the benzodiazepine work together to get a "calming" effect. I read a while back I think that over time the body will produce less GABA due to chronic benzo use or downregulate the GABA receptors, to maintain homeostasis. I have no idea if one or both of those are true but if the amount of GABA production is reduced then a GABA reuptake inhibitor may help. If the receptors are downregulated, then I don't know if it would. The problem though would be, if the GABA reuptake inhibitor would help, would the body produce less GABA after a while? I have no idea but ideally it would be great if we could all get off drugs.

However, for the time being I wonder if something like it would work temporarily and if a doctor would recommend slowly withdrawing from benzos and see if the brain can repair. :( :( I don't know and it is something you would have to ask the doctor about. The GABA reuptake inhibitor drug is called Gabitril (Tiagabine - generic name) and it went generic in April 2016. I don't know if many doctors are familiar with it and I would assume that it may be because it used to be so expensive and many doctors may have prescribed something cheaper to achieve a similar outcome for the patient. If anyone does purchase the medication without insurance, you might can save some money by looking up a coupon code on goodrx.com, wellrx.com, or something similar.