Amplified Frequencies. Does Anyone Else Have This Kind of Tinnitus?

Discussion in 'Support' started by jcloth, Apr 18, 2017.

1. jcloth

jcloth Member

Tinnitus Since:
      09/2010
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise induced
      I'm curious to know whether anyone else experiences tinnitus in the same way as me, as I've yet to see it described.

I have noise-induced hyperacusis and tinnitus. I do have some "traditional" tinnitus, i.e steady-frequency ringing in my ears (although different tones in each ear) - but this is only really noticeable in quiet environments. But the really bothersome form of tinnitus I have involves bands of frequencies of what I'm actually hearing being hugely amplified. Whether it's broadband noise, music 0r whatever, frequencies between G5 – C6 (783.99 – 1046.50 Hz) are accentuated and it's maddening, especially as I am a musician.

I had another setback this week, 7 years into this dreadful condition: another band of frequencies around 3000 Hz is now also amplified :(:(

Anyone share these symptoms?

• Informative Informative x 1
    2. SilverSpiral
      Sad

SilverSpiral Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      ACOUSTIC TRAUMA
    3. PaulBe

PaulBe Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      11/2013
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Probably sound, though never proven
      This is what mine has been like for the past three and a bit years. Right now it seems to have reduced quite a bit, though not gone.

4. SilverSpiral
      Sad

SilverSpiral Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      ACOUSTIC TRAUMA
      @VRZ78 also has some symptoms along these lines I think along with a few others, a thread pops up every couple of months of someone describing it like you do, but it only gets a reply or two, so it doesn't get much awareness. @LowHumPulse was describing it recently I think too.

5. AUTHOR
      AUTHOR
      jcloth

jcloth Member

Tinnitus Since:
      09/2010
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise induced