Art as a Coping Method?

Discussion in 'Support' started by Aeris Oadriax, May 21, 2015.

1. Aeris Oadriax

Aeris Oadriax Member

I am curious to know if some of you have any artistic pursuits and how, if at all, this ties into your struggle with tinnitus. I find myself up against a wall, or hanging off a cliff. My life is in tatters and I don't know how I am going to suffer through this condition. But, through this struggle, through this pain I find this may be the perfect opportunity for artistic inspiration. As if the noise is my muse, it may be a beneficial ailment. I have had the desire to take up painting, to manifest my suffering in some visible form.

Throughout my teen years and into my early 20s I was a musician. I found that I created the best music during my periods of intense suffering. And now, I feel as if it may be possible to utilize the same kind of power for another pursuit. Does anyone have any feedback on this? Anyone else have any artistic passions? I am a great writer but I find that it may not be the field for which to most effectively channel my strife.

2. erik
      Cool

erik Member Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      04/15/2012 or earlier?
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Most likely hearing loss
      Anything which can distract you from your T is good. Artistic creativity in every form can help you accomplish this. When you passionately get involved in creating your "masterpiece", then all else, including T, doesn't matter as much. It is much harder to cope with T when other parts of your life is experience difficulties. T thrives on kaos and disorder. Balance out your life, give it purpose and meaning and you will find that your T will be much easier.

• Like Like x 1
    3. Golly
      Bookworm

Golly Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      01/2011