Bluetooth Makes My Tinnitus Worse?

Discussion in 'Support' started by Methos1979, Mar 31, 2015.

1. Methos1979
      Musical

Methos1979 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      01/1975
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Military
      New guy here and poking around. I've had tinnitus a very long time from being close up and personal to an explosion while serving in the Navy. Like most, it gets worse with blood pressure spikes from illness, eating salty foods, not getting enough exercise or sleep. It's very annoying but I've learned to live with it. I've also got a significant hearing loss in both ears and nerve deafness pretty bad but I get by. I don't let it get me down.

I'm a musician and love music and listen to it all the time. I don't play it loud to protect what hearing I have left. I cannot use ear buds or anything that completely blocks my ear canals as they start to itch within a few minutes and it gets painful within 10 to 15 minutes. So usually I use on-ear cans (headphones) or speakers. I'm loving the digital streaming music and having so much variety at my disposal.

I'm a techy type of guy. I love Bluetooth and have embraced that technology wholeheartedly. But I've seemed to notice that listening to anything via a Bluetooth signal seems to put my tinnitus into overdrive. I'm wondering if anyone else has noticed this. Listening to non-Bluetooth does not do this. So it weirds me out a little that there is some sort of 'wireless' frequency that I can't hear but my ears is reacting to. One weird thing about me is I can hear very high frequencies that no one else can, not even little kids. I've had that my whole life as well.

Anyway, just wondering if anyone else has noticed this phenomenon?

• Like Like x 3
      • Agree Agree x 2
    2. linearb
      Psychedelic

linearb Member Benefactor Hall of Fame

beliefs are makyo and reality ignores them
      Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus: