Can Noise-Cancelling Headphones Help Tinnitus and Prevent Hearing Loss?

Discussion in 'Support' started by ownagealan, Jan 25, 2022.

1. ownagealan
      Anime

ownagealan Member

Tinnitus Since:
      12/2021
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Maybe Otoxic Medication?/Otitis Media
      Hello all, I hope all of you are doing well. Since I am fairly new to tinnitus, I guess this will be the first question I will ask.

I was wondering about your thoughts on noise-canceling headphones and whether or not they can help tinnitus and prevent hearing loss?

Although my tinnitus frequency is not as loud, I can still hear it and it is a bit annoying to me. My mother is always so concerned about me and I always tell her that it just keeps on going and it does not stop.

When I tried habituating, it seemed to work for me, but ever since I have had a minor spike, I am starting to worry once again. I am unsure if it is from the Tylenol I have taken because I only took it 4 times over the course of January and took only under 1000 mg.

I live in an urban environment, so I have to take trains every day to school and you know the sound that trains make when they stop on the tracks... yeah... that is pretty concerning for my hearing.

I am open to any ideas :)

• Hug Hug x 1
    2. Vincent R
      Caffeine

Vincent R Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      09/2014
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Acoustic trauma
      Noise-canceling headphones works poorly against high-pitched noise.

Foam earplugs, if correctly inserted (google for instructions), is the best hearing protection on planet Earth. Use them when you are exposed to those train brakes or other kind of loud noises.

You want to protect your hearing, or your tinnitus might get worse.

• Like Like x 1
      • Agree Agree x 1
    3. kingsfan
      Haunting

kingsfan Member Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      9-17-2020
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      turning everything up to 11