Competing with Sound

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Paul W Springer, Oct 11, 2017.

1. Paul W Springer

Paul W Springer Member

Tinnitus Since:
      04/2013
      My tinnitus started about 7 years ago. I'm a contractor, so going out of town to work was part of the job. Two months was alright being away from the family, but one particular job was going to require about 7 months.

The stress from thinking about this caused me to wake up one morning to this god awful noise in my ear. My wife's boss at the time was a neurosurgeon and when I asked her about it her first question was "Is it in one ear, or does it move." I told her it has a tendency to move, and she said it was stress related.

Several things I have noticed about my tinnitus. One is for a split second in the morning when I wake up, I don't hear it, then it feels like it comes crashing in.

Also, it seemed like it would compete with outside noise, so when I sleep at night I would wear earplugs.

I took my son in for a sleep study once, and one of the things the doctor said is that your ears still work at night when you are sleeping, so I tried the earplugs to see what that would do. It was hard at first going to sleep because you really hear your heartbeat, but when I finally fell asleep, I slept like a baby. now I actually like sleeping with them in.

2. billie48
      Sunshine

billie48 Member Benefactor Ambassador Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      03/2009
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      not sure