Crazy Tinnitus Spike, After Years of Stable Tinnitus (I'm a Musician)

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Terry23, Jul 2, 2022.

1. Terry23

Terry23 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Musician
      Hello all,

I thought I'd post my story here, maybe get a bit of clarity and much needed sanity as to what has been going on.

So I've had tinnitus for a long time now, 1998 in fact. I'm a musician, been in bands and spent my youth in raves, gigs, band practices. Need I say more.

In short, for much of that time I only noticed it at night or in a quiet environment. At first it drove me mad, then I got used to it and forgot about it. Much easier, when you don't hear it during that day. I took care of my ears, wearing earplugs when necessary. Still playing music, but not that loud.

Up to 2016, I had three spikes where I heard the noise during the day. Lasted maybe 1-3 weeks each time. The first spike and second spike were awful but subsided. The last spike was in 2012, and I wasn't affected by it at all. I recognized its tone, the way it felt and knew it would go.

Then in 2016 things started to change a little. The funny thing is I was just telling a friend that year, how my tinnitus was practically unnoticeable and had been for a while. Then I came off of a short flight, and noticed that the ringing in my right ear had increased. OK, I thought, not the first time my tinnitus has played up after a flight. But the increase became permanent. Mainly at night still.

The following year, I was introduced to the world of pulsatile tinnitus. Again only at night, but that wasn't fun. That actually went away after a couple of years, and I'm pretty sure it was related to neck/shoulder tension.