Do You Still Listen to Music with Earbuds?

Discussion in 'Support' started by katriina, Feb 8, 2014.

1. katriina
      Frustrated

katriina Member

Tinnitus Since:
      11/2013
      I like to listen music while I'm walking outside or when I'm jogging etc... But does this cause more harm to my T? I almost can't exercise without music... Is it okay to listen music with earbuds if volume isn't too loud?

2. carol kane
      Wishful

carol kane Member

Tinnitus Since:
      11/13
      Hi Katriina i'm no expert, and i've never had earbuds in my ears so i can only tell you what i have read but apparently if you have T then you shouldn't use them, even at a low level, i don't know why but i have read that from time to time ... someone else on here will have more knowledge about it, but i wouldn't use them at the moment until you have had the all clear by someone who knows what they are talking about ... sorry i couldn't be more help!!!

3. shan
      Lurking

shan Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      God knows
      I used to use them before my recent spike albeit not on a daily basis. I think it is okay to use it as long you keep the volume low. I avoid using them when I am outside because it will distort my perception of the volume.

4. Markku
      Inspired

Markku Founder Staff Podcast Patron Benefactor Hall of Fame Advocate

Tinnitus Since:
      04/2010
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Syringing
      I use IEMs (Westone UM2) extensively for music listening when out and about.

Haven't done any harm to myself. Since they block so much external noise, I don't need to keep the volume loud at all.

Markku

5. yonkapin

yonkapin Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      March 2012
      You can definitely still use ear buds - just make sure the levels are reasonable and you'll be all good to go!