Drummer Producer with Tinnitus

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Jinlako, Jul 7, 2022.

1. Jinlako

Jinlako Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      many years but increasingly worse
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Drummer
      Hi there,

I'm a drummer producer who last week had a loud accident in the studio and now my tinnitus is out of control. I couldn't sleep much last night and I'm now super worried about my job and prospects.

I hope it will fade over time. I have lurked a bit on the forum and find it very useful and interesting how people cope.

How is people's experience with accidental loud noise for a brief moment; does it usually fade or am I stuck with this sound now?

2. AnthonyMcDonald
      Confused

AnthonyMcDonald Member Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      06/2021
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise induced
      Well, your job isn't exactly tinnitus friendly. In all honestly I'd say if you stay there there's a very, very slim chance that it'll fade. Not saying impossible, but very unlikely. Tinnitus does fade or get better for most, that's an undeniable fact. But the truth is just there's no way to know. I'd suggest taking it easy at work, or using way better protection.

• Agree Agree x 2
    3. AUTHOR
      AUTHOR
      Jinlako

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Drummer
      Thanks for the realistic reply. I have used earplugs lately and hopefully it won't get worse as long as I use the earplugs. I automatically play less loud now for fear of making it worse.

I think my tinnitus is from loud clicktracks in the studio to be honest so I will try to use earplugs there as well.

But for now I will need a little break and hopefully get it normalised and feel less stressed. Music production I can do pretty quiet so hopefully that won't be affected so much.

What kind of masking noises do people use for sleeping? I tried an app Calm and I found it a little too loud or intrusive with streams and bird noises.