Ear Ringing Started 9 Days Ago...I Don't Know How to Cope

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by jmccombs82, Nov 8, 2013.

1. jmccombs82

jmccombs82 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      October 29, 2013 at 10AM
      Hello everyone,

I am new to this type of thing...but I guess I am hoping to gain support and encouragement. 2 weeks ago I started to sneeze and from that resulted a bit of head congestion without fluid. During that time we went camping and my boyfriend and I drove down to a lower altitude, which is when I started to feel a bit woozy in the head. At the campsite I felt a bit nautious (about 5 min) and recovered. We spent two days at the campsite with no symptoms; however, upon driving back up the mountain I started to feel a bit of head congestion and sinus pressure. 3 days later the ringing started, primarily in my right ear. I went to an ENT who told me "it might be a virus" and "the ringing may be with you forever". I was put on a 12 day stint of prednisone and have 4 days left. The prednisone has F#@%KED me up. My anxiety is through the roof and I have slept an average of 3 hours a night (if you clump them all together. I called the ENT after experiencing an increase in anxiety and he told me "I had an ear virus 15 years ago and the ringing stayed". This has no done well for my nerves!!

I am trying despterately to be optimistic but I notice my emotions are all over the place. I went for a massage a few days ago and she focused on my sinus and glands. After the massage the ringing stopped in my right ear and switched to my left. It has changed tones, pitch, and sound (from ringing to hissing to crickets). I have been placing a warm towel on my left ear and last night is stopped ringing. However, this morning I noticed that the ringing transferred to what sounds like inside my head. I can put ear plugs in and stop the sound at times.