Experiencing “Siren” Tinnitus Sounds

Discussion in 'Support' started by Jule, Jun 6, 2020.

1. Jule

Jule Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Possibly TMJ
      Hello everyone,

This is my first time ever posting on anything like this but I’m really just hoping to feel a bit less crazy... which is hard when you don’t know anyone else with tinnitus.

I guess my tinnitus has always just been pulsatile (although I’m not 100% informed on this diagnosis, but basically what I’ve always experienced is a pulsing/whooshing in my ear) but in the past week or so I think I’ve started to experience other sounds... mostly what seems to me like a siren sound. Obviously right now with the current state of the world (pandemic and protesting throughout the US), it’s been a stressful time in general where everything feels on edge. I don’t know if this is just stress related or bad timing on my tinnitus’ part to start to present as another kind of sound... I just feel like I am going crazy.

I keep thinking that it is genuinely just an endless wave of real sirens, police cars and ambulances roaring down the main street in my town. But it’s not, and I can tell the difference just based on volume. Yet still, I’m left standing in the shower or sitting in my room at night hear these noises. Even though a quick google tells me that siren sounds are something people with tinnitus hear I’m just having trouble understanding when this has never been how I’ve experience tinnitus before.

I guess I just want to feel a bit less crazy and am hoping to hear from others who experience siren noises as part of their tinnitus. And if this current state of the world is adding to your anxiety/confusion with thinking you’re hearing crazy things happening out in your neighborhood when it’s really just your stupid tinnitus.