Greetings from Some Alien Planet and the Loch Ness Monster I am Fighting

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Coyotesheaven, Sep 18, 2016.

1. Coyotesheaven
      Depressed

Coyotesheaven Member

Tinnitus Since:
      02/2015
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Multiple
      Hi,

I am a 22-something post grad who is happily (sarcastically speaking) spending their life curled up at home away from job and further education thanks to some really bizarre malady that no neurologist or ear doctor can put a name to.
      I have been sick for just over a year with the same complaints, but a few of my ear-related complaints began in early 2015 due to 3 loud noise exposures. I have also been battling depression for 1.5 years now. I do not know if there is a connection. To sum up my current complaints:

The Symptoms

A. I have some mysterious disease that seems to be vascular in nature or related to the fluids in my inner ear, which is affecting primarily my head, neck, and ears.

1. This hidden malady has caused or contributed to the development of basilar, otic, and vestibular migraines. I have no real genetic predisposition to migraines and never had them before August 2015, so they are likely caused by something else.
      • These migraines have caused tinnitus, hyperacusis (which can be a very weird type which makes you feel like you are getting 'schocked' by loud noises), vertigo, dizziness, and fluctuating hearing loss which has slowly progressed in both the high and low frequencies. The hearing loss comes as tiny sudden losses that do or do not recover. I have tinnitus in the high frequencies that usually sounds like downed power lines. And recently, as I am starting to hear droning noises too; I have had diesel motor sounds and low pitched humming sounds.