Growing up with Tinnitus

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by monophaser, Nov 29, 2013.

1. monophaser
      Frustrated

monophaser Member

Hi,

I'm 22 years old, and I have had tinnitus for a long time. Actually I'm not sure exactly when it started, but I remember hearing tinnitus as early as 13. I've been playing music for many years. Started out with the guitar, then I went on to producing electronic music and DJ'ing and playing in a fairly succesful band.
      I've used custom made protection for my ears, 25 db my whole career when I've been in very noisy environments.
      My tinnitus didn't really bother me until recently: the past 2 years I'd say. I don't know why - but it seems more intrusive than before. Maybe it has gotten louder, maybe not - it's a blur and it's hard to tell.

Right now I'm at my worst I would say. Tinnitus bothers me a lot. It's the first and the last thing I think of during the day - also because of the silence around you when you sleep. I wanted to ask you guys about a couple of things I've found out about my T.
      1) If I block my nose with my fingers and makes pressure in my ears, my T disappear, but instantly reappaers when I stop doing it. Anyone tried this?
      2) My tinnitus is very 'somatic' i think it's called. I can make it 3-4 times louder i think when pressing certain places on my head and clenching my jaw. Anyone else experience this? I think it's very hard not to experiment with the t, so i tend to get really sore jaw from all the clenching.

I have a masker and I also use my computer. It helps with sleeping and concentrating.

I know as a musician I'm extra threatened by t, but i think i've always been careful. I feel like i've been cheated. That I don't deserve this. I'm not completely lost. I live a happy life, i'd say. But tinnitus is bothersome.

All the best,
      Monophaser

2. Erlend
      Question it

Erlend Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      05/2013