Gunshot-Induced Tinnitus and Minimal Hearing Loss — Any Guidance Appreciated

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Kevin Hallowell, Apr 27, 2021.

1. Kevin Hallowell

Kevin Hallowell Member

Tinnitus Since:
      January 2021
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Loud noise exposure
      I'm new to Tinnitus Talk. It seems like there's a lot of knowledgeable people here.

My tinnitus is from noise exposure from a gunshot. I have minimal hearing loss.

The 1st month was a lot of anxiety and depression; I took some Hydroxyzine and Ativan for sleep since I already had anxiety issues due to a fight with insomnia before.

I work as a driver and in the truck it is about 80 dB and when I deliver liquid Nitrogen it's about 105 dB due to the venting. I double up on hearing protection.

Am I going to have issues with tinnitus getting worse?

If I use double hearing protection, can I still shoot guns?

I've only had 1 spike really in the last 3 months which started last Tuesday and it is slowly fading now. And that was caused by stress and anxiety due to some issues with the family. For like 2 weeks I thought I was getting used to it. I wasn't taking anything to help sleep and was feeling good until the anxiety started last Tuesday. Now I'm back to where I started, fighting to get back to somewhat my baseline.

Any recommendations or guidance would be appreciated. Thanks.

2. ajc

ajc Member Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      11/2002; spike 2009; worse 2017-18
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Loud music - noise damage
      When you deliver liquid Nitrogen, if you use both earplugs and earmuffs, you should be safe.
      What kind of guns? If you shoot .22 with a silencer, you can do so safely with double hearing protection.

I wouldn't shoot high caliber guns...

• Like Like x 1
    3. Michael Leigh

Michael Leigh Member Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      04/1996
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise induced
      Hi Kevin,