Had It For 7 Years, Successfully Habituated, Then It Got Louder :(

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by bmguitar, Mar 17, 2015.

1. bmguitar

bmguitar Member

Tinnitus Since:
      2008, 2015, 2019
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Acoustic Trauma x 3
      Hello everyone,

After lurking around this forum for a good week, I've finally decided to sign up and join the community.

I first had my T in 2008. Being an amateur musician, I was playing around with a feedback looper at home, and I had a sudden burst of extremely high frequency. I quickly reached for the volume dial, but 0.5 second was long enough to give me a permanent T.

I'm sure most of you here are familiar with the famous "you will just have to learn to live with it" quote and the devastation that comes with it. I was very devastated. Never being able to escape from the hissing sound. The thought of living with it for rest of my life. It was very hard. But funnily enough, after a few months of winging, I became habituated. I rarely thought about T, and was a happy chap for the past 7 years.

Thought it was the end of my T horror story.

Fast forward to couple of weeks ago. I went to Mogwai concert. I have a habit of wearing some sort of hearing protection every time I go to a gig, but for whatever reason I didn't this time around. And boy were they LOUD (with heaps of high frequency content). I had muffled ears and a tonal T for a couple of days, which luckily disappeared, but I noticed my original T became a lot louder.

Now I hear it at work, in my room, before & after I sleep and wake up to it at 3am everyday. I thought I was T free, but now 7 years later it gets into my nerves all over again. I recently had an irreversible injury (hip joint issue) which makes me very depressed, and on top of that the new & louder T is making me extremely anxious.