Hearing Aids Aggravate Reactive Tinnitus

Discussion in 'Support' started by Melissa S, Apr 22, 2024.

1. Melissa S

Melissa S Member

Tinnitus Since:
      01/2024
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown
      Hi everyone! This is my first time posting in here but I've certainly spent lots of time reading.

I had a sudden onset of tinnitus on January 7th of this year, no known cause. I do know that I panicked and went to urgent care the morning of the onset and had long/painful ear irrigation, and I fear that made everything 10x worse. I just didn't know any better back then what I would do to go back to that day and change everything...

Anyway, I have one ear with a constant high-pitched eeeee, and the other ear is obnoxious cicadas/wind chimes/chirping. My tinnitus was severely reactive the first 2.5-3 months, causing an entire head hissing at the presence of any sound whatsoever. I was constantly having to run to a quiet room just to get some relief. A couple of weeks ago, I noticed the reactivity & hissing were nearly gone, and just the normal tinnitus sounds remained. I had been wearing an earplug in my reactive ear very regularly, so I'm sure that was part of the healing. I was thrilled.