Hello & Help pls

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Jade, Jul 10, 2013.

1. Jade
      Lucky

Jade Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      08/07/2013
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Genetics, Beats by Dre, Work
      Hello guys & girls,

I cannot remember the last time my head was silent and I didn't have this constant ringing in my head... however in the last few days (provoked by a conversation with my mother about my deceased father having Tinnitus and that drove him crazy eventually to take his own life) has put me into a full blown Panic Attack and non avoidance of this ringing in my ears. So I have now embarked on a search for self help and diagnosis (even though I am a text book case and when I return home from work will be getting it diagnosed once and for all) I can now hear it 24/7 louder as I am thinking about it and I don't know if the really loud spikes of it (that last momentarily) are getting worse or not. I work in the Mines so in a very loud industry, I do wear ear protection always but since this conversation with my mother the other day has me really considering a new career in case it can debilitate my current condition, I have two amazing young daughters and a very tolerant supportive partner. Pls if there is any of you out there that can calm my fears or help me with my new consciousness of Tinnitus I am all ears.... feeling very deflated and down.
      Kind regards

Jade

2. Golly
      Bookworm

Golly Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      01/2011
      Hi Jade;

First of all, know that MOST people are NOT driven to extreme actions as a consequence of their tinnitus. The majority will eventually either habituate or develop coping mechanisms such that they can lead perfectly normal lives. And I expect you will be among this majority.

To help you get through this rough patch, I recommend you have a chat with your doctor(s) about options. There are various routes that you can take to alleviate your anxiety.