Hello, Musician with Tinnitus

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Chaise Wilson, Oct 25, 2012.

1. Chaise Wilson

Chaise Wilson Member

Tinnitus Since:
      4/2011
      Chaise Wilson is the name.

I am a musician who was gigging on a regular basis with no ear plugs of course. The straw that broke the camels back was a small hard rock club concert I attended last April. Stood too close to the speakers and woke up with my ringing that has never gone away. My quality of life has decreased significantly since, and my life dream of playing music with my band is ever more difficult now that I have this condition.Hearing is still in pretty good shape as my audio grams put me at a normal level when tested. However the ringing and hyperacusis damn near drive me mad.

i would rate my t at about a 4/10 I can mask it most of the time, but I can always find it if I look. The hyperacusis irritates me far more than the T does, but i realize it is all from the same source.

I joined a couple other boards before finding this one, other boards just tell you to learn to live with it. I see here you folks are investigating possible cures! My kind of people.

I currently am still playing music but always wearing er-20's custom earplugs... experimenting with magnesium to try and lessen my T. I have also been researching stem cells and would eagerly try them for hearing loss as soon as treatment becomes available. Any other advice from you folks? Any avenue of relief?

Thank you for any help, and I look forward to participating on the board!

• Hug Hug x 2
      • Like Like x 1
    2. Fish
      Balanced

Fish Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      July 2012
      Hello Chaise,