Hello. New Here. Suffering from Tinnitus for 2 Weeks — Triggered by Noise Exposure.

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Rb86, Jun 13, 2019.

1. Rb86

Rb86 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      5/31/19
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise
      Hello all.

I'm 33. I've been suffering from tinnitus for essentially 2 weeks now and could use some positivity and guidance.

I have been exposed to various loud noise through life but rarely anything terrible. I was a working musician in my younger days. Now I do automotive work and recently got into sheet metal shaping/hammering.

May 15th I unfortunately hammered on some metal without protection. The following day my hearing was a little muffled. That weekend my wife and I went to the mountains. My hearing was mostly fine but mildly bothered. On the way home on the 19th my ear popped and I could hear fully normal again.

The following day I had to use an air nail gun and didn't use protection. The next day I developed a bit of a warbly low end tinnitus that would come and go.

I went to the ENT doctor who ran tests and determined mild hearing loss in my left ear at the 6000 Hz range. That was may 31. I was told to try Flonase and pop my ears 20-30 times a day if I suspected any clogging because that makes tinnitus worse. That evening it was the worst of my life. Couldn't sleep couldn't do anything but cry.

At my request, we did a course of Prednisone for one week, followed by another course for one week.

I have tracked my symptoms and found it interesting. Roughly every 3 days my tinnitus has changed. What started low began to work higher and higher every few days. 8000, to 10,000, 12, all the way to 15,000 Hz. Following 15,000 Hz it turned into an almost airy sound in my neck. It has remained there for 4 days now. I again went to the mountains and had a pop and it seemed helpful.