Hello There

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Pariah Zero, Jun 2, 2017.

1. Pariah Zero

Pariah Zero Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown
      I've had a ringing in my ears since early childhood - one of my earliest memories is complaining to my mom about the ringing (and she didn't believe me).

I literally cannot remember a time when I haven't heard it.

To me, it's a high pitched discordance (several tones, around 6-7 kHz), and roughly equivalent to 70 dB in volume, and in both ears.

Yes, it's that loud — louder than many conversations.

Yes, it's a constant sour musical note.

... and, yes, I'm an engineer who has played with tone generators and sound level meters to describe what I hear.

I use some white noise to help me sleep — mostly to reduce the ear's tendency to become even more sensitive in the absence of noise.

I do wonder about my hearing from time to time; but I have no issues hearing quiet sounds (like my baby boy breathing a few feet away, or the taps of my fingers against my phone's screen).

I've always taken hearing protection seriously. I wear earmuffs or earplugs when I mow the lawn, use power tools, etc. Ditto for loud music - I just don't enjoy it loud.

I have long wondered what could have caused my tinnitus- a series of childhood ear infections, or if I have hearing damage from before I could remember.

My tinnitus doesn't cause me any anxiety or stress. To me, it's like a heartbeat or breathing - there's no escape, but also completely normal.

I do wonder what I can do to to reduce it.

I love music; Silence is as big a part of music as any instrument; I'd like to be able to "enjoy the silence" a bit more.

• Like Like x 1
      • Hug Hug x 1
    2. billie48
      Sunshine

billie48 Member Benefactor Ambassador Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      03/2009
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      not sure