Hi everyone, I also live with tinnitus. Read my post.

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Ricardo Monteiro, Apr 7, 2011.

tinnitus forum
    1. Hi my name is Ricardo, I am a musician and audio engineer.
      The constant ringing in my ears started about 4 years ago and I've been learning
      how to deal with it since then.

As an Audio engineer and musician this was something that had a big impact in my life,
      I went to hell and I came back from it, it was really complicated to get used to it, I do my
      best to manage it the best way, avoiding some food and drinks, doing some exercise and relaxing.
      I have days, days where the noise is only as a background, days where the noise invades my head and doesn't let me focus, in the end the music saves my life, I am very careful with my ears and I control the sound pressure level, if I am going to any loud place I will always wear protection.

It is amazing, I never thought I was that strong to deal with a situation like this, I don't know how
      but I've found strength inside myself to fight against my own.

I support the British tinnitus association by funding their research, I will also participate in a UK documentary about living with tinnitus, more money is being invested on tinnitus research and scientists are getting closer and closer, there is a need to spread the word, there is a scream to be heard and then the silence...

I have a solo project called Screaming Culture which was influenced by my tinnitus, it was my escape:
      www.myspace.com/ScreamingCulture

Thanks for reading.

2. Jim
      Happy

Jim Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      04/2007
      Welcome Ricardo,
      Yep, me too. And a little ambien. The one positive thing I can say about tinnitus is it has been the catalyst for my music library explosion. I am constantly on the lookout for new and interesting music. Got any recommendations?
      Jim

3. jon

jon Member