Hidden Struggle → Meniere's Disease (Vertigo, Motion Sickness, Hearing Loss, Tinnitus)

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by glynis, Oct 8, 2023.

1. glynis
      Feminine

glynis Member Benefactor Ambassador Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Meniere's Disease
      20231007_131616.jpg

I am the most loving, caring, honest, reliable person who puts others first. I am a lovely mum, grandma and mum to 3 cats. I work as a Health Care Assistant. This is the person people see. They don't see the person with hidden health problems.

Meniere's disease came in to my life about the age of 25, in both ears. Vertigo, motion sickness, hearing loss and yes, tinnitus. Over the years my hearing has got worse. I have hearing aids in both ears. My tinnitus screams 24/7 to the point that it's like my head's in a glass oven on full blast. Sleep is a nightmare, I need meds to help. This is the part people don't see. They don't see the fight to stay happy and not give in day after day.

To give in or give up will never happen because I push through everything and I don't look back; only to see how far I've come.

I bring joy, care, and love to people who struggle with dementia and other conditions who need lots of care and can't care for themselves.

Yes, my ears blast 24/7. I could lose more hearing and go deaf. This is the person they don't see.

I push hard every day so people see the happy me at work and home, but sometimes I wish people could be me to hear what I hear and could understand the unseen me. I also used to be ignorant to what I don't know or see - until it struck me.

Glynis

• Hug Hug x 10
      • Friendly Friendly x 5
      • Like Like x 3
      • Winner Winner x 3
    2. Nick47

Nick47 Member Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Viral/noise
      Here's hoping treatments are not far away for you.

• Like Like x 1
      • Agree Agree x 1
      • Friendly Friendly x 1