How Can I Pursue College Education with Tinnitus?

Discussion in 'Support' started by FakeBeans, Dec 9, 2021.

1. FakeBeans
      Suicidal

FakeBeans Member

Tinnitus Since:
      11/2021
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Sinus infection most likely
      Hello everyone.

I'd say I am pretty new to tinnitus as I have only had it for 2 weeks. I suppose it isn't that bad as I mostly notice it when I am in a silent room but it does still get me down.

My question is: how feasible is it to pursue a college education for someone with tinnitus? I have mentally given up on pursuing a college degree since I have tinnitus which is making me a bit depressed but am still harbouring some hope that I might be able to.

2. Michael Leigh

Michael Leigh Member Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      04/1996
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise induced
      As I explained to you yesterday @FakeBeans, pursue your goals and try not to let fear and negative thinking overwhelm you. This is the reason I advised you to print and read my posts and refer to them often. Tinnitus can be daunting in the early stages but it will settle down. If you are feeling stressed and anxious something that is quite understandable, talk to your doctor.

Try not to keep asking this question on anything similar especially at other social media sites, as you might get negative comments and that will not help you. If you associate with negative thinking people which you may not be aware of, their thinking can quickly become your way of thinking.

Take care,
      Michael

• Like Like x 1
    3. Sean

Sean Member

Tinnitus Since:
      01-01-2011
      No way you can give up education. Your goal is to protect your hearing now. That means 1) no loud places at all, no movies, no concerts or live events and 2) be careful when you take meds.

You have to remember for most people tinnitus goes down a lot and stay like that for a lifetime except for the occasional spike.