I Experience Louder Tinnitus When Pressing Mastoid Bone Behind the Ear?

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Michael-DK, Sep 24, 2022.

1. Michael-DK

Michael-DK Member

Tinnitus Since:
      12/2021
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown
      Hi all!

My story: in December last year, while I was working at home during COVID-19, I suddenly started to hear the noise I otherwise only know from when you are close to an electrical device. I've been to an ear doctor, and she tested my hearing as perfect. And even though I am a teacher, I am not exposed, nor have I been exposed, to a lot of noise. I therefore believe that my tinnitus is somatic. By the way, the ear doctor did an ultrasound scan of the mastoid bone without finding anything. I have also tried massaging the jaw, neck and muscles around the neck, without any difference.

Despite my tinnitus, I'm probably luckier than most, because I don't have a very clear/high tone, and there are even periods when I completely forget my tinnitus. I therefore hope it doesn't escalate, and I'm curious if I myself can take preventive action against just that.

As the title says, my tinnitus becomes louder when I press on the mastoid bone, precisely the mastoid process (picture below), i.e. the small bone that sticks out and points downwards behind the ear.

7140.jpg

It's most obvious when take my right arm behind my head and pull the bone behind the left ear, towards the neck (I hope it makes sense).

I have searched to see if others have the same experience as me, but cannot find others with same experience.

Has anyone else had the same experience?

When I bite my teeth hard together, it also makes my tinnitus louder, but isn't that very common? - I don't think I suffer from TMJ.

Thanks for reading this far. I hope to hear from someone.

Kind regards,
      Michael, Denmark

• Like Like x 2
      • Hug Hug x 1
      • Informative Informative x 1
    2. Joe Cuber
      Angry

Joe Cuber Member Benefactor