I Have Decided to Quit Music

Discussion in 'Support' started by addot, Mar 29, 2017.

1. addot

addot Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Jan 2013
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise exposure
      I'm a 23 year old musician with T and H. I sing and play guitar. You can read my story here.

Long story short: Got T after standing in the front row of a concert in 2013. This January, after a guitar recording session, I had my second serious T and H spike.

Yesterday, I decided to quit music.

Well, for the most part. Bear with me:

I've wanted to become a musician since I laid my hands on a guitar (was 13 years old). I've always liked to write, so as soon as I learned some chords, writing songs just came naturally to me. As i grew up, so did my ambitions. I took music very seriously in terms of getting as good at it as I possibly could. From 2014 on I also fell in love with producing. My long term goal was to set up a recording studio for producing my and my friends' records, and continuing to write and perform. Music was my identity and biggest dream.

Since this last spike, one thing became crystal clear to me: if I kept performing, rehearsing, etc, even with good hearing protection, there would be no guarantee that my T and H wouldn't get worse over time. I struggled with these thoughts... I didn't know what else to do besides music. I felt like my life was over, and was on the verge of making plans for suicide.

Then I came across this Buzzfeed article about H.

This article is a pretty tough read, and I don't recommend it if you are going through a bad spot. Ironically, when I read it, I was at my absolute worst. Imagining how devastating it could be if I got worse was one thing; seeing it... was soul crushing on a level I can barely describe. It fucking destroyed me. I cried my heart out for hours. Finally, I made my decision: I had to quit pursuing music as my job.