I'm new and can use some advice.

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by briano, Nov 6, 2013.

1. briano
      Wishful

briano Member

Tinnitus Since:
      09/2013
      Hello,

My name is Brian and I have a hiss in my ears. It is all my fault too. Two months ago, I was listening to loud music for about 45 minutes a day for two weeks straight. I am a musician and was listening to some final mixes for a new CD. Because of this, I lost a little hearing in my left ear and now have a hiss in both of my ears. The doctor told me to try and ignore it and that perhaps my brain will learn to not hear the hiss in time. I'm trying to do that but it has been difficult. I am taking CoQ-10, YinVive Tinnitus and Clear Tinnitus. The hiss only bothers me when there is silence. Does anyone have any recommendations?

Thanks,
      Brian

2. Riikka

Riikka Member

Tinnitus Since:
      09/2007
      Hello Brian,
      it's really a pity there isn't any medication yet to make the tinnitus away. It would be really nice. There are of course some things you could give a try, just check the treatment and research part, there are things you might consider. I personally wouldn't spend much money any more on a treatment that has no scientific prove. Some years ago I spent a lot of money for HBO (hyperbaric oxygen treatment) that didn't help at all. Now I would rather spent that money for a nice holiday to relax. That said, at the moment I am still trying taking supplements that were recommended here (magnesium, vitamin B12).

I think the advice your doctor gave you is actually quite right. As you describe your tinnitus as a hiss that bothers you only in silence, I'm positive you will learn to ignore it soon. Until then you could listen to for example nature sounds at low volume to make the silence not feel too bad.