I'm New to Tinnitus — I Wonder If Ibuprofen Could Cause Tinnitus?

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by wonderingwoman, Oct 27, 2018.

1. wonderingwoman

wonderingwoman Member

Tinnitus Since:
      October 18th, 2018
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      shock to the central nervous system
      I am almost 70 years old, really healthy, I walk over an hour each day. I don't understand this. About a week ago I woke up in the middle of the night and my ears were ringing.

I had taken ibuprofen before this for pain in my hands---and I wonder if ibuprofen could cause this.

I have a stupid question, if I drink several glasses of wine, the tinnitus stops. What does this mean.

A few years ago I had a couple of days of ringing and it stopped.

Monday morning when I went walking, it stopped.

I am so scared that this is never going to go away.

Do you have any thoughts? Help!!

• Hug Hug x 2
    2. DebInAustralia
      No Mood

DebInAustralia Member Benefactor Hall of Fame Advocate

Tinnitus Since:
      12/2013
      Hi there

Do you have hearing loss?

NSAIDs; including ibuprofen has been known to be a problem for some.

What dose and duration were you taking ibuprofen for?

NSAIDs deplete zinc. Perhaps try taking zinc. Not sure of mechanism by which NSAIDs can cause tinnitus, but it's worth a try.

As is nicotinamide riboside (there are threads on this here)

Not a stupid question. Alcohol acts on the GABA receptors in the brain (CNS depressant) Many on here note reduction in tinnitus; either directly via action on GABA receptors, and/or indirectly on perception of tinnitus. (Similar effect on brain as benzos).

I know it's hard but the more attention you give it, the more you'll heighten your awareness and distress.

• Informative Informative x 1
    3. AUTHOR
      AUTHOR
      wonderingwoman

wonderingwoman Member

Tinnitus Since:
      October 18th, 2018
      Cause of Tinnitus: