I'm So Worried, Don't Know What to Do

Discussion in 'Support' started by Suzerman, Jan 9, 2018.

1. Suzerman

Suzerman Member

Tinnitus Since:
      10 october 2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Probably a mix of ETD and TMJ
      I have been walking with ear problems for a good three months now. It started with a slight hiss, and the doctor established that my ears were inverted. I also have crackling, a messed up jaw etc.

Now since this problem I have been feeling a slight sensitivity to sounds, but I figured it was my inverted ear drum, nothing more, nothing less.

I went to the ENT and she said that my ears were normal, which is weird because I hear constant crackling and popping when I yawn and swallow. She told me its probably my eustachian tube thats not functioning properly.

After this she suggested I use my nasal spray again. Shortly after, I started experiencing an increased sensitivity to noise.

I work in a quite noisy environment (work shop), so them suddenly bursting out loud sounds is literally torturous for me right now. It started as a bit of sensitivity, but it has worsened dramatically.

I do not know what to do, I'm wearing ear plugs at work right now, but this certainly cannot be a long term solution, because I am 100% sure that wearing ear plugs increases this problem.

Do you guys think I have hyperacusis? And if so, what can I do about it? And what do you guys suggest I do to keep doing my job, that doesnt involve worsening my condition?

2. glynis
      Feminine

glynis Member Benefactor Ambassador Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Meniere's Disease
      Hi @Suzerman,
      You might find noise reduction plugs better than just plugs as will filter sound to a safe limit.
      If you need extra things put in place to keep you in your work you could try-
      Ask for extra breaks
      Shorter working day
      Move to a area not so noisy to see if it will help you.
      Love glynis x

• Like Like x 1