Intracranial Giant Cell Tumour Causing Left-Sided Hearing Impairment and Tinnitus

Discussion in 'Support' started by Frédéric, Nov 23, 2020.

1. Frédéric

Frédéric Member Podcast Patron Benefactor Advocate

Tinnitus Since:
      11/19/2012
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      acoustic trauma
      I am not a doctor, therefore I don't know the medical flow charts or medical guidelines. I just wonder what were the hints that tell the doctors to test an extended CT and MRI (not just in the cerebellopontine angle to rule out Vestibular Schwannoma). Is it because the patient suffered left headaches during 2 years? Unless these tests are done, you just miss the diagnosis.

Intracranial giant cell tumour—a case report
      Abstract

Background

Giant cell tumours (GCT) are rare benign bone tumours that typically occur in the appendicular skeleton. In typical locations, these tumours are relatively simple to diagnose by radiography. However, at atypical locations, these tumours can be confused with other disease pathologies. Here, we describe a patient with an intracranial GCT that was initially thought to be a cystic teratoma.

Case presentation