Introduction (Maybe Re-Introduction)

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Moe Shinola, Apr 28, 2015.

1. Moe Shinola

Moe Shinola Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      nerve damage, loud music
      Hi folks, I think this is my first post but it might not be, I haven't been on here in awhile. I'm a part-time musician in the midwest, this year I'll be 50 years old. My first experience with ear problems was when I went to a metal show in the early 90s, not realizing that I'd have to get right in front of the stage to hear the guitarist, but didn't bring earplugs. I had ear pain for a few days. Later, by about '97, I noticed hissing when it was quiet. In '99, I was assaulted and sustained head injuries that required staples(beaten with metal pipe) and in the last 10 years I notice the hissing to be louder, and to get worse at certain times of year, when winter sets in, when spring sets in. Where I live the air pressure changes a lot, and I think that exacerbates the hissing. An audiologist once told me that he thought I have nerve damage from the assault, since I have almost zero hearing loss, and I've kept my sound pressure levels down since the assault(never use earbuds, keeps the radio down in the car). This year so far it's been real bad. I think I probably need my ears cleaned out and my soon upsoming doctor visit should help. Also, I have diabetes, which I haven't managed as well as I should, but that should change this week. And last of all, I underwwent successful treatment for lymphoma in 2002, and had chemo + radiation. I don't know how all these things affect my tinnitus, but I'm really done with just tuning it out since it's so loud now all the time. Any input would be appreciated. Thanks for reading.

2. gary
      Transparent

gary Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      07/2012
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Who Knows