Is It Safe to Make Music with Tinnitus / Hyperacusis?

Discussion in 'Support' started by NeoAnderson, Oct 29, 2016.

1. NeoAnderson

NeoAnderson Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown
      Since I get so much anxiety from this constant ear fullness and hyperacusis / tinnitus, sometimes even though I'm afraid of sounds and being triggered by them, I have to just take my mind off it and get into creative mode making music.
      I am also a 3d artist / game dev, but sometimes making music is a bigger anxiety reliever since it's less stressful / technical and more fun at times. I use speakers that are 5 feet from my ears, don't really play them too loud, (unless im really in the moment) but I do not use headphones or ear buds.

My question, is this dangerous and should I give it up? Or do it at very low volumes? Sometimes when I'm in a good mood and am forgetting about my problems I just turn the music up and try to let the music drown out my thoughts and everything, the problem is a few hours after I feel like I shouldn't have done it, kind of like being regretful after eating a big fattening meal. I mean, since we have possible extra damage and dead cells, are we more susceptible to further easier damage and causing our problems to get worse every time we dont protect them? IDK if I can be walking around with earmuffs 24/7 in florida..

Should we just treat sound the way we do with food and indulge in moderation but not completely cut ourselves off? Or is it more important to preserve what fragile senses we have left in hopes to benefit from sciences in 5-10 years? When you see suicidal people with this stuff it makes you both want to live in the moment and enjoy life while it lasts but also protect your hearing even more and dont, its like which one do you do lol

2. Starthrower
      Wtf

Starthrower Member Benefactor Ambassador Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      January 2002
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Dental Surgery