ISSHL,Tinnitus, Hyperacusis and Facial Nerve Symptoms

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Jake5, Dec 3, 2019.

1. Jake5

Jake5 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      10/2019
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Sudden Sensorineural Hearing Loss
      Hello to all,

I have been aware of this forum for about a month now and thought I would introduce myself posting to see if anyone else has had success with a similar situation.

I have been diagnosed with Idiopathic Sudden Sensorineural Hearing Loss with Tinnitus.
      As well, I have Hyperacusis which I have dealt with since the hearing loss. What is worse is I am a professional musician and this whole thing has upended my life as I am sure all of you know all too well.

My hearing loss happened two months ago so this has all been evolving over the past weeks. It is just one ear (right side) and my hearing dropped to just about nothing.
      I was able to catch this pretty quickly and after one week of Prednisone I gained 20%. However the hearing has been the same since then.

The tinnitus I have is a loud hiss like white noise, along with a very high frequency that just hangs in the background. What hearing I do have in the ear is distorted and with the Hyperacusis I’m very sensitive to high frequency sounds. As well, I have this sort of pseudo-numbness feeling in my head. It is not real numbness as I can feel my face etc... yet it sort of feels like the acoustics of the ear with the tinnitus adding some aggravation will resonate throughout and cause the neurological symptoms. The symptoms go into my top teeth, sinuses, right side of the head and a little down in the right cheek. Sometimes if I graze my fingers across my head the symptoms light up. Or I can tilt/move my head or look up with my eyes. Also my right eye is a bit twitchy.

I have done my protocol of oral steroids, then 3 intratympanic steroid shots in the ear,