Just Another Person Who Was at a Very Loud Concert and Got Tinnitus + Hyperacusis

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Letsgetbetter, Jul 9, 2022.

1. Letsgetbetter

Letsgetbetter Member

Tinnitus Since:
      2022 - March
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      loud band
      About 5 months ago, this band cranked it up too loud and I got hyperacusis in 20 minutes. I have also some ringing. Coping is hard because I am a musician. I also use loud tools often.

Currently trying to "overprotect" because seems better than triggering more hyperacusis symptoms from loud noise.

Sucks. I'm a 45-year-old male. I love loud stuff like tools, cars, boats and guitar.

Hoping I will slowly get better and be able to do acoustic stuff.

Currently sad to miss summer music festivals but doing camping instead.

It's probably mild but it still sucks. My voice sounds loud and boomy, stuff is louder, I have ear fullness, tinnitus that changes (gets louder or even seems to go away some mornings), but can come back.

I seem to be doing a little better as the months drag on, but I do sometimes overdo it and it sets me back.

Doing some loud motors with double protection seems ok. I usually feel worse after loud social interactions or if I use a loud tool without double protection.

Hoping a summer of camping and quiet will help.

• Hug Hug x 2
      • Funny Funny x 1
    2. AnthonyMcDonald
      Confused

AnthonyMcDonald Member Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      06/2021
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise induced
      I'd cut my dick off to be able to go camping.

• Funny Funny x 4
      • Like Like x 1
      • Hug Hug x 1
    3. MaxRabbit

MaxRabbit Member

Tinnitus Since:
      06/2022
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Zoloft, NOISE, Anxiety, EARBUDS.
      Anthony, that's extreme but understand the feeling (sorta). :D